2011 Academy Awards

The Academy of Fellows Awards were presented at Indoor Air 2011.

The ISIAQ Academy of Fellows presented the 2011 Pettenkofer Award to Professor Jan Sundell at Indoor Air 2011 in Austin. Jan Sundell was given the award by the Academy in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the advancement of knowledge and his achievements in the indoor air sciences.  The Pettenkofer Award is awarded triennially by the Academy to an individual in recognition of outstanding work in advancing the indoor air sciences.  The Pettenkofer award, which is the Academy's highest award, honors Prof. Max von Pettenkofer as the founder of modern hygiene with his pioneering work on CO2 and IAQ.

The Academy also selected Dr. Ying Xu (USA) to receive the 2011 Yaglou Award, which acknowledges outstanding work of promising young researchers within the indoor air sciences.     

Best paper awards for papers published in Indoor Air during 2008-2010 were granted to these four papers in chronological order:
  • C. Armendáriz Arnez, R. D. Edwards, M. Johnson, M. Zuk, L. Rojas, R. Díaz Jiménez, H. Riojas-Rodriguez, and O. Masera, Reduction in personal exposures to particulate matter and carbon monoxide as a result of the installation of a Patsari improved cook stove in Michoacan Mexico, Indoor Air 18, 93–105, 2008. 
  • A-S Claeson, S Nordin, A-L Sunesson, Effects of perceived air quality and symptoms of exposure to microbially produced metabolites and compound semitted from damp building materials, Indoor Air 19,102–112, 2009. 
  • WJ Fisk, AG Mirer, MJ Mendell, Quantitative relationship of sick building syndrome symptoms with ventilation rates,Indoor Air 19, 159–165, 2009.
  • H Qian, Y Li, Removal of exhaled particles by ventilation and deposition in a multibed airborne infection isolation room, Indoor Air 20, 284–297, 2010.

Professor William W Nazaroff, Editor-in-Chief of Indoor Air wrote an editorial (Indoor Air 2011;21:265-266) introducing these best paper awards (2008-2011).
Corporate Members